Book Recommendations from our Youth Librarians

Published Monday, February 8, 2021

Even while the library was closed for in-person visits, we've been adding new books to our collection. Take a look at these books recommended by our Youth Librarians, Megan and Kristen, and then place your requests!

Picture Books

Jabari Tries
by Gaia Cornwall

Ages 4-8
Jabari is inventing a machine that will fly all the way across the yard! But making it go from CRASH to WHOOSH will take grit, patience, and maybe even a little help from his sister. Gaia Cornwall’s tale shows that through perseverance and flexibility, an inventive thought can become a brilliant reality.

Check Availability
Superheroes are Everywhere
by Kamala Harris

Ages 3-7
In this empowering and joyful picture book that speaks directly to kids, Kamala Harris takes readers through her life and shows them that the power to make the world a better place is inside all of us.

Check Availability
Share Some Kindness, Bring Some Light
by April Stott

Ages 4-8
A little girl and her friend Bear learn the true meaning of selfless kindness in this sweet, stunningly illustrated debut picture book.

Check Availability

Upper Elementary/Middle Grade Books

Once Upon an Eid: Stories of Hope and Joy by 15 Muslim Voices
edited by Aisha Saeed and S. K. Ali

Grades 3-7
Once Upon an Eid is a collection of short stories that showcases the most brilliant Muslim voices writing today, all about the most joyful holiday of the year: Eid!

Check Availability
The Last Mirror on the Left (A Legendary Alston Boys Adventure)
by Lamar Giles

Grades 3-5
Otto and Sheed must embark on their most dangerous journey yet, bringing a fugitive to justice in a world that mirrors their own but has its own rules to play by. This funny and off-the-wall adventure is perfect for readers of Jonathan Auxier and Lemony Snicket.

Check Availability
Wolf Walkers: The Graphic Novel
by Samuel Sattin

Grades 3-7
An enchanting graphic novel about a feud, a friendship, and two girls forever changed. Based on the beautifully hand-crafted animated adventure, WolfWalkers, this graphic novel features an introduction and exclusive original art from film co-creator Tomm Moore and co-Art Director Maria Pareja.

Check Availability

Teen Books

Furia
by Yamile Saied Méndez

A powerful, #ownvoices contemporary YA for fans of The Poet X and I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter set in Argentina, about a rising soccer star who must put everything on the line—even her blooming love story—to follow her dreams.

Check Availability
The Cat I Never Named
by Amra Sabic-El-Rayess and Laura L. Sullivan

The stunning memoir of a Muslim teen struggling to survive in the midst of the Bosnian genocide—and the stray cat who protected her family through it all.

Check Availability
Music is My Life: Soundtrack Your Mood with 80 Artists for Every Occasion
by Myles Tanzer

Learn about music and emotion in this anthology for the whole family. With 80 artists, bands, and composers from all genres (including classical) there's something for every family member to love and recommend to the next generation (or, disagree with!) While away the hours, listening to artists and discovering new songs together.

Check Availability
The Cousins
by Karen M. McManus

Milly, Aubrey, and Jonah Story are cousins, but they barely know each other, and they’ve never even met their grandmother. Rich and reclusive, she disinherited their parents before they were born. So when they each receive a letter inviting them to work at her island resort for the summer, they’re surprised...and curious.

Check Availability
About the Author

Megan is the Head Librarian of Youth Services at Edwardsville Public Library and has been working at EPL since 2014. A short list of favorite authors include Shakespeare, J.K. Rowling, the Bronte sisters, and David Sedaris.